top_image
Author Message

<  The Path - PC problems  ~  The Path update 1 available

ToT
Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 10:42 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 22 Apr 2008 Posts: 305 Location: Gent, Belgium
An update for The Path is available here. If you are having problems with the game, please download, unzip and install in the folder where you installed The Path. There's no need to install this update if the game runs normally on your computer.

Please make a backup of your original installation. The updater replaces certain files.

Let us know if this update fixed the problems you were experiencing with the game. Or if it caused new ones.

Exclamation Note that the Saved Game format has changed a little bit. As a result you may need to reset certain Options in the Menu after installing the update.

With this update, you can press the SPACE bar while starting up the game to choose resolution from a dialog box before the game starts. This should fix several problems that occured on some systems.

Changes in version 1.1
    -fixed depency error in library that caused game to crash on startup
    -fixed Raven visibility error
    -Piano object is now available in the Forest if the Theater is not active
    -New Game now resets Locators
    -Load Game resets resolution saved with game
    -default resolution is one size smaller than desktop resolution
    -game prefers video refresh rates of 60Hz
    -additional options for setting resolution
    -crash with gray box on startup fixed
    -positions of objects with contexts are now consistent
    -additional quality option for shadows, post-processing and textures
    -run speed is now consistent


Last edited by ToT on Mon May 18, 2009 8:51 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Snatcher42
Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 3:34 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 01 Apr 2009 Posts: 14
Thanks ToT! Will the Steam version be automatically updated?
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ToT
Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 6:31 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 22 Apr 2008 Posts: 305 Location: Gent, Belgium
Snatcher42 wrote:
Will the Steam version be automatically updated?

It will be. But not just yet. We want to make sure that this patch is good.
And we still need to figure out how exactly to submit an update to Steam. Confused
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Viking
Posted: Sun May 17, 2009 2:56 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 Posts: 163 Location: UK
I've installed the patch on the Steam version (As long as the game is ran outside of the steam client this is possible as it doesn't tie you down to steam, which I'm not complaining about) and there are still problems with the raven not showing up.
Plus there was a weird melting effect when selecting the girl for the first time but this didnt show up a second time.

I'm going to try the USB edition next and see if that works, but I assume the files are all the same.

EDIT: Nope, still doesn't appear on the ground when landing. Also the melting effect seems to have been a one off.
View user's profile Send private message
Guest
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:13 am Reply with quote
That pesky Raven!.... Mad

Thanks for testing!

What videocard do you have?
Viking
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:18 am Reply with quote
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 Posts: 163 Location: UK
Radeon X1800.
View user's profile Send private message
ToT
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:56 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 22 Apr 2008 Posts: 305 Location: Gent, Belgium
It was a stupid mistake on my part. Please try again. This one should contain the fix for the Raven visibility.

And yes, ATI cards sometimes show a "melting" effect where there should be a "flipping" effect (background of the Menu). But we thought it looked cool too. Smile
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Viking
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 10:35 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 Posts: 163 Location: UK
The melt effect happened again so I let it run for a while. Kind of like rain melting the paint off the screen. Smile

But unfortunately the raven still disappears. I don't know if I need to delete my save and start again to be on the safe side (I'm currently playing in the epilogue) but I managed to find the raven 3 times on the path, only through seeing the larger image of feathers appear on screen when I got close, not through seeing it on the path.
View user's profile Send private message
Viking
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 6:57 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 Posts: 163 Location: UK
Now this is interesting. The raven has managed to stay on the ground at least 4 times when playing the Prologue. I think there was perhaps 1 point when it disappeared but I can't be sure as GiW was in the way. But the percentage rate has certainly increased!
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 9:54 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
I wonder if I forgot to include a required file in the patch... Confused
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Guest
Posted: Sat May 23, 2009 2:15 pm Reply with quote
Hi

I downloaded and installed this beta patch yesterday as I was having problems with the crow (not visible at times, and a bugger to catch).

I loaded the game and after catching the crow I decided to quit. At this point Vista popped up one of its 'application compatibility warning' dialogue boxes and asked if I wanted to rerun the program with admin privileges as it had attempted to do something that required admin privileges. Before I installed the patch the game did not require admin privileges to run. Has something changed or will this be fixed in the next patch?

Thanks
Michael
Posted: Sat May 30, 2009 9:57 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
No, nothing has changed on that level. Maybe we're not installing the patch in "the proper way" according to Vista's rules. I must admit that we're not very familiar with Vista and hope it will go away soon because it gives us nothing but trouble as developers.

We will release a full new version of the game soon. Maybe that will fix the problem.

I'll have a look at Vista though. Thanks for reporting this!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Viking
Posted: Sat May 30, 2009 10:38 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 10 Mar 2009 Posts: 163 Location: UK
Just to keep you updated, I recently bought a new PC and the raven appears fine on the Steam (unpatched) version. Now I'm on Vista Home Premium and using an Nvidia GTX 295. Possibly an ATI driver problem?
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:05 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Possibly. Thanks for the update!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Guest
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:18 am Reply with quote
Viking wrote:
Just to keep you updated, I recently bought a new PC and the raven appears fine on the Steam (unpatched) version. Now I'm on Vista Home Premium and using an Nvidia GTX 295. Possibly an ATI driver problem?


At the time mine was a ATI 3870 with the 9.5 drivers on Vista Home Premium SP1 (now updated to SP2).

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum