top_image
Author Message

<  The Path - PC problems  ~  Game has graphical problems? Help needed.

Gen Grevious
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:08 am Reply with quote
Guest
The game runs fine, at high settings and all, no glitchs nor bugs, but the problem i have encountered is that i can watch or play in 3rd person perspective, its somehow stuck to first person, also if there is no first person, then either the character models is invisible or its a graphical problem, any way i can solve this?

Thanks
_________________________________________
AMD Turion X2 Dual Core X64
64bit Windows Vista Home Premium
1 Terabyte Hard Drive Space
Nvidia Geforce 8400m GS 1027MB 128 Bit
4 GB RAM
Directx 10.0
Enzo
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:23 am Reply with quote
Guest
I'm having this same problem. I have integrated graphics but my FPS is fiiiiiiine (probably 60!). I have 3gigs of RAM and 256mb of (shared) video memory. My processor is 2ghz dualcore.

So what's going on with the character models?
Enzo
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:31 am Reply with quote
Guest
It's me again. I thought maybe it would help if you saw a screen or two of what's going on.

Here's a shot near the starting point of the game:


...and here's the graveyard:


As you can see, the player character is nowhere to be seen, but the camera is definitely revolving around where she SHOULD be.[/img]
Guest
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:33 am Reply with quote
Pardon. HERE is a shot of the graveyard:


As you can see, static objects, the world geometry and objects you may interact with are all rendering fine. I haven't checked on the wolf yet, but I presume this will be similar. I'd rather not get to that point when I can't see the character.
Michael
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 7:10 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Could it be that you are starting the game by clicking on the .exe? Because that may cause this problem. You need to start the game by using the shortcuts created by the installer.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EnzoDragon
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:09 am Reply with quote
Joined: 21 Mar 2009 Posts: 7
Michael wrote:
Could it be that you are starting the game by clicking on the .exe? Because that may cause this problem. You need to start the game by using the shortcuts created by the installer.
Oh, wow. Yeah, that solves the problem. I hope the original poster was having the same problem.
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
metiz
Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:27 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 21 Mar 2009 Posts: 2
I have the same problem however, running from the shotcut does not resolve the problem. i don't know if it is related but i don't see the car driving in the opening scene either. I tried all different graphicall settings, reinstalls, updates to video drivers and directx but nothing works. my specs are:

p4 3ghz
2gb ddr1 ram
winxp pro sp3
ati radeon 9800 pro 256. (shader model 2)

anyone know of a different solution?
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:19 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
There's only the sound of a car in the opening scene. No visible car.

Are you using the shortcut created by the installer on the desktop, the quick launch bar or in the start menu?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
metiz
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:30 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 21 Mar 2009 Posts: 2
I'm using the shortcut on the desktop.
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 4:11 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Could you post a screenshot of the shortcut's properties window?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DeeJayBoS
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:06 am Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
I found the fix to my graphical problem, which was the same as this one. I use the desktop shortcut to start the game. Originally the properties looked like: "C:\Program Files (x86)\The Path\PathViewer.exe". This would run the game, but I wasn't seeing any character and wasn't able to interact with anything and overall the game was running slowly. What is missing is Q3DStart.q3d. The shortcut properties should look like the following:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\The Path\PathViewer.exe" Q3DStart.q3d

This fixed the problem and everything is working perfectly now. I have the settings all maxed out and I haven't had any other issues. So, make sure your desktop shortcut, or whatever shortcut you use has the proper game path.

"X:\[The Path Folder]\PathViewer.exe" Q3DStart.q3d Make sure that Q3DStart.q3d is outside of the quotes, otherwise it will say the path does not exist. Hope this helps.
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:31 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Was the original shortcut created by the installer? Or did you make it yourself?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DeeJayBoS
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:02 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
The original shortcut that I used that didn't work was created by the installer. I then made the adjustment myself by adding the extra Q3D portion.
View user's profile Send private message
vie
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:53 pm Reply with quote
Guest
how I can change a vie to 3 person?? sorry i dont speek english well
Michael
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:31 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
vie wrote:
how I can change a vie to 3 person?? sorry i dont speek english well

By installing it properly. And then running it from the shortcuts it creates.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum