top_image
Author Message

<  Forest Problems and Bugs  ~  BASS_ChannelRemoveFX

Michael
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:55 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
If you get an error message about bass.dll, it is probably because there is another version of this file on your machine. Check in c:\<windows folder>\system32, c:\<windows folder>\system or c:\<windows folder> and remove/rename/replace the bass.dll files that you find in there. That should fix the problem.

Bass is a sound system for games, so keep an ear out for any sound probems in other games, caused by the changes you made.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Raymondje
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 2:25 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 5 Location: Netherland - limburg
That didnt help for me =[
I played This game before and it worked perfectly ( but that was a while ago ) and now i wanted to try it out again but now i cant play cause i get this error. Are there any other things that could help?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Michael
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:34 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Try reinstalling it, perhaps?
First run the uninstaller and then remove the folder that the game was in before reinstalling first the screensaver and then the launcher.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xxstephxx
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:20 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 Posts: 7
Hi,

I have a similar problem with BASS_ChannelPlay

I had tried looking for the BASS.dll files in system 32 on my laptop but I cant seems to find any which is very strange can anyone help me on this? Maybe I was looking in wrong files?

When I do find it what should I do with it? I mean Michael mentioned deleting them or renaming or replacing so which action should I take to sort this out?

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:04 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
The safest thing is to rename the original in your system folder as a backup and then copy the one that came with The Endless Forest in its place.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xxstephxx
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 2:55 am Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 Posts: 7
Errmmmm sorry I may know alot about computers but I'm not exactly an computer expert but!

I somehow found the BASS.dll in c:\WINDOWS not in system 32 folder so do I have to move this BASS.dll to system 32 folder or copy and paste? Shocked

if thats not what I should do then please could anyone tell me what to do with this BASS.dll found in WINDOWS folder?

Also if I was to rename it, what do I call it? :-S

thank you so much!
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:43 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Just rename the bass.dll you find anywhere in the Windows folder (or its subfolders) to "Bass_renamed_to_test_TheEndlessForest.dll".

Then run The Endless Forest.

If it works, run any other games that might be using the bass.dll to see if they still work. Or just keep an eye (ear) out for any sound problems you encounter with other applications that might require bass.dll to be in Windows.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xxstephxx
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:11 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 Posts: 7
Great, ok I'll try that what you told me then I'll let you know how it goes!

Thanks!
View user's profile Send private message
xxstephxx
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:38 am Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 Posts: 7
Yay! The renaming of the BASS.dll worked! Thank you so much! Now I can play the game on my laptop without pestering my Dad to play the game on the computer instead! Laughing (frame rate still slow but better than not playing it on my laptop at all, after all it gets better sometimes)

Sorry it took ages for me to try out the solution as I was really busy before anyway, thanks again! Smile
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:44 pm Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Good to hear it works.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Callalily
Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:07 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 14 Feb 2009 Posts: 4
Excuse me, but I just joined this game, and when I tried playing it, all it did was that a white screen popped up when I clicked the Icon on my desktop twice (as I would normally do to get things up, obviously), and after about 5-8 seconds of waiting, and Error Window popped up, telling me it could not be found or something like that.

Could I please have some help?
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:33 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
Callalily wrote:
Excuse me, but I just joined this game, and when I tried playing it, all it did was that a white screen popped up when I clicked the Icon on my desktop twice (as I would normally do to get things up, obviously), and after about 5-8 seconds of waiting, and Error Window popped up, telling me it could not be found or something like that.

Could I please have some help?


We'd love to. But we need more details. Your system specifications, for starters.
Does this have anything to do with the subject of this thread: BASS_ChannelRemoveFX?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Callalily
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:21 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 14 Feb 2009 Posts: 4
Oh, nevermind. My friend, FourLeaf, should be sending emails to you about it, so no worries. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
BiteMe
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 9:19 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 7 Location: Sniffing
When I rename the bass.dll what do I put?

and the only bass.dll I can find is the one in the endless forest, I can't find one in Windows folder.
View user's profile Send private message
Michael
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:03 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
BiteMe wrote:
When I rename the bass.dll what do I put?

Anything. It's just so that The Endless Forest engine wouldn't find it.

BiteMe wrote:
and the only bass.dll I can find is the one in the endless forest, I can't find one in Windows folder.

Then things should work fine.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum