top_image
Author Message

<  Forest Problems and Bugs  ~  The "Something went wrong" Error

Raz
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 4:19 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
I was just wondering what might actually cause this? It happens when you try to log in, it doesn't log in and says "Something went wrong" underneath the username/password input boxes. It also causes you to lose your set.

Because it seems to always happen to me if TEF disconnects for some reason. And lately it seems to be happening alot more frequently.

Generally when I play there's nothing going on in the background and no one else is using the internet.

I've also heard it's happening to people using the latest version too.

Although I'm wondering if it actually is my internet as it's been acting up for the past week or two.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Millie_
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:46 am Reply with quote
Joined: 22 Feb 2010 Posts: 425 Location: Messing around.
Happened to me,too! Gladly i had my spelldata saved. I hope somebody finds a way to fix this Confused
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Michael
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:37 am Reply with quote
Site Administrator Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 8065 Location: Gent, Belgium
This usually means that data wasn't exchanged properly between server and client and that things don't make sense to the client. I guess a faulty internet connection could cause this. Or a game that's running too slowly.

If you notice a pattern when this happens, please let us know.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Raz
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:49 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
Michael wrote:
If you notice a pattern when this happens, please let us know.

Sure.

The only pattern I've noticed so far is that the error always happens midgame if for some reason TEF disconnects. It never happens when I first open the game.

However when it happened today, my internet was stable. But I'll keep tabs on if there's any connection between internet failing and this error.

I'll keep a watch out for any other patterns and such.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fiddlesticks
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:53 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Jul 2010 Posts: 288 Location: Russia. Russia. Error.
Raz wrote:
Michael wrote:
If you notice a pattern when this happens, please let us know.

Sure.

The only pattern I've noticed so far is that the error always happens midgame if for some reason TEF disconnects. It never happens when I first open the game.

However when it happened today, my internet was stable. But I'll keep tabs on if there's any connection between internet failing and this error.

I'll keep a watch out for any other patterns and such.


try not to use programs that use up your space. (Internet while TEf is playing)
View user's profile Send private message
Raz
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:26 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
Yeah, I do this already. I've had the time to learn that other programs can cause problems while the forest is up. Thanks for the advice ,though.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fiddlesticks
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:39 am Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Jul 2010 Posts: 288 Location: Russia. Russia. Error.
Raz wrote:
Yeah, I do this already. I've had the time to learn that other programs can cause problems while the forest is up. Thanks for the advice ,though.


'Welcome. ^^
View user's profile Send private message
Raz
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:09 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
Not sure if this counts for anything:

But today I got that error a few times in a row while trying to log in. Maybe at around 12:30pm my time (South Australian).

We've had our internet fixed so I guess it isn't the internet connection causing issues.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ThunderingHooves
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:17 am Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Dec 2010 Posts: 7
Your Lucky!

Atleast you can actually get on, I only jus started playing.
I registered my deer and then I went to log on and it says;
"Something Went Wrong...Please Try Again"

It does this continuosly I can't sign in ):
View user's profile Send private message
Fiddlesticks
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:26 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 26 Jul 2010 Posts: 288 Location: Russia. Russia. Error.
ThunderingHooves wrote:
Your Lucky!

Atleast you can actually get on, I only jus started playing.
I registered my deer and then I went to log on and it says;
"Something Went Wrong...Please Try Again"

It does this continuosly I can't sign in ):


Just keep trying. You'll get it eventually. :3
View user's profile Send private message
ThunderingHooves
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:01 am Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Dec 2010 Posts: 7
Quote:
Just keep trying. You'll get it eventually. :3



I doubt that...
Login: Something Went Wrong
(After About Half An Hour)
Login: Something Went Wrong

It is really annoying >.<
View user's profile Send private message
Raz
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:53 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
@ThunderingHooves:
I dont mean for this to sound creepy but, out of curiosity, what country do you live in?

Because if you live in Australia, we usually get most of the problems Confused
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ThunderingHooves
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:28 am Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Dec 2010 Posts: 7
Yeah I Live In Australia :/

Damn It! All I Wanna Do Is Play Online DX
View user's profile Send private message
Raz
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:14 am Reply with quote
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 Posts: 2866 Location: With the FuzzyRaptors
Ah, :\ welcome to the club. Sadly there's not much we can do other then try reinstalling and closing and opening TEF Confused it's a pain and is annoying as hell. So don't worry there are some others out there who also have the same problems as you do.

On a related note, Michael, I think that error's main pattern seems to indeed happen when the forest disconnects for some reason or another. Because I just experienced it again. And it also does not matter if I have 'connect automatically' on or off.

It also appears to happen at random and does not have a particular time when it occurs.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ThunderingHooves
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:35 am Reply with quote
Joined: 17 Dec 2010 Posts: 7
I gues we will just have to wait until the problem is fixed or someone finds a solution, because I've pretty much everything you can possibly do to fix it.

:/
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum